March 13, 2020

Last Updated: April 24, 2023



  • Home
  • /
  • Blog
  • /
  • GraniteRock/GraniteStone Pan Review: Good, Great, or Garbage?

GraniteRock/GraniteStone Pan Review: Good, Great, or Garbage?

By trk

Last Updated: April 24, 2023


If you're in the market for an inexpensive nonstick pan, we'll show you in this Granite Rock review/GraniteStone review how they stack up to the competition, and whether or not they're a good buy.

GraniteRock/GraniteStone Summary: We think they're garbage, despite the many positive reviews on Amazon.

Best Features: Inexpensive, good nonstick properties when new.

Worst Features: Mediocre build quality and the nonstick coating doesn't last very long.

Recommendation: You can get much higher quality pans by spending a little more.

GraniteStone and Granite Rock Pans at a Glance

GraniteStone skillet, GraniteRock/GraniteStone Pan Review

Granite Rock is the first generation of pans from this company. They are still made and sold but the lines haven't been updated in some time (as far as we can tell). Some lines may be being phased out.

GraniteStone is the second generation of pans from this company. They've added several product lines to the original GraniteStone pans, including GraniteStone Diamond, GraniteStone Green and Blue (same pans, different colors), GraniteStone Pro, GraniteStone Diamond Pro, GraniteStone Pro Premier, and GraniteStone Stackable.

As far as we can tell, Granite Rock and GraniteStone are identical products, with a pressed aluminum body and a PTFE nonstick cooking surface that's been reinforced with granite.

GraniteStone Diamond and Diamond Stackmaster has granite and diamond particles added to the nonstick coating and has the same pressed aluminum body. Stackmaster is induction compatible, while the other GraniteStone Diamond pans are not.

GraniteStone Pro/Pro Premiere/Diamond Pro have the same diamond and granite reinforced nonstick coatings but a much more durable anodized aluminum body. Some of these pans are induction compatible and some aren't. They are priced slightly higher than other GraniteStone lines.

Yes, it's all a little confusing, and we aren't 100% certain we got it all right. But here are some of the most popular GraniteRock and GraniteStone buying options. 

Buying Options

Features/Claims

Rating/Price

GraniteStone skillet

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles.

About $20

GraniteStone skillet

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles.

About $30/$19 at GraniteRock

(note: If you buy off the GraniteRock website, you also get a free mini pan with your purchase, although some reviewers claim they never got theirs.)

GraniteStone frying pan with lid

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C
-NOT induction compatible

-Glass lid

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles.

About $32/$37

GraniteStone skillet

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE 

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Metal utensil safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Dishwasher safe.*

About $28

GraniteStone 2 pack skillets

-Hard-anodized aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-Induction compatible

-Metal utensil safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Dishwasher safe.*

About $60

GraniteStone 14in. skillet

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Helper handle

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Metal utensil safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Dishwasher safe.*

About $40

GraniteStone Diamond square skillet

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles.

About $30-$35

GraniteStone griddle

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe.*

About $28

GraniteStone 5 pc set

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-NOT induction compatible

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Includes 2 skillets, one sauce pan, 2 glass lids.

About $50

GraniteRock/GraniteStone 10 pc set

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Glass lid

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Black, silver, red, blue, and green exteriors available.

About $120

GraniteStone 24 pc set

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Includes 10pc cookware and 14pc knife set.

About $110

GraniteStone Stackmaster Set

-Pressed aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Metal utensil safe*

-Dishwasher safe*

-Induction compatible

-Includes 2 skillets, 1 sauté pan, 2 sauce pans, 1 stock pot, 3 glass lids

-Stackable to save space.

About $160

GraniteStone Green cookware

GraniteStone Blue cookware

(diamond coated/several buying options)

GraniteStone Green Frying Pan

-Aluminum body in blue or green

-3 layers of diamond-reinforced PTFE

-Oven safe up to 500F/260C

-NOT induction compatible

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe.*

-12" skillet about $30

-5 pc set about $60

-This is GraniteStone Diamond in new colors.

GraniteStone Diamond Pro 13pc set

-Anodized aluminum body

-3 layers of reinforced nonstick coating (varies with line)

-Oven safe up to 500F

-Stainless stay cool handles

-Metal utensil and dishwasher safe*

-Some lines ARE induction compatible.

-3 skillet induction set about $120

-13 pc set about $180 

-Diamond Pro 13pc set about $170.

* To get the longest life out of your pan, we recommend using non-metal utensils and washing by hand. 

back to top

Who Makes GraniteRock and GraniteStone Cookware?

GraniteRock and GraniteStone products are made in China for the Emson corporation, the well-known "As Seen on TV" sellers. They do not make any of the products they sell; they import them from a Chinese manufacturer. 

Emson also owns the Gotham Steel brand, the well-known copper-colored nonstick ceramic cookware marketed in a similar manner.

Do GraniteStone and GraniteRock Pans Contain Teflon (PTFE)?

Yes.

Like many other nonstick brands these days, they're made to look like old-fashioned porcelain-enamel cookware made by the Granite Ware company:

GraniteWare Porcelain Enameled roaster

However, aside from the speckled appearance, GraniteRock pans are nothing like these old roasting pans. GraniteRock pans contain no enamel and no porcelain. 

Like most other nonstick cookware brands that boast granite, titanium, diamond dust, or other materials, the truth is that these are aluminum pans with a PTFE (i.e., Teflon®) coating. (Actually, 3 layers of reinforced PTFE coating, which is a common way to improved durability of nonstick cookware.)

Remember: granite is not a nonstick surface, nor is titanium or diamond. Thus, these are PTFE nonstick pans that are reinforced with other substances. The added benefit (perhaps even the main benefit) is that the makers can advertise the reinforcement material ("granite," "titanium") and downplay the PTFE, which has gotten a bad rap in recent years (and for good reasons).

In fact, some of the Amazon GraniteRock/GraniteStone write-ups go so far as to say that the pans are "PTHE-free." Is that a typo? Because as far as we know, there is no nonstick coating called "PTHE."

For more information, see Nonstick Cookware Brands: PTFE or Ceramic? A Comprehensive Guide.

back to top

Do GraniteRock and GraniteStone Pans Contain Granitium?

Probably not--but they contain a similar type of nonstick coating.

Granitium is simply a trade name for a type of PTFE coating that contains tiny ceramic particles that sit above the PTFE and protect it from utensils. The ceramic particles give the coating the rough texture that Granitium is known for.

GraniteRock pans do not state that they use Granitium, so they probably don't. However, there are hundreds of different types of PTFE coatings on the market (including Teflon®) and several of them contain reinforcing particles like ceramic, titanium, and diamond dust. The GraniteRock company uses one of them, but they don't say which one they use.

Is Granite Nonstick Cookware More Durable than Regular Nonstick Cookware?

Granite Rock rocks and hammer demo

Maybe. Probably not.

The latest marketing strategy is to add materials to strengthen the nonstick coating, but it's debatable whether this really adds much value. Our testing and research shows that the working lives of titanium nonstick, granite nonstick, diamond nonstick, and regular nonstick Teflon (PTFE) are all about the same. 

The truth is that PTFE coatings, including Teflon, simply do not last very long. Even with the very best of care, you'll be lucky to get 2-5 years of use out of any PTFE pan. If you get more than that, good for you; we know people who have. But it's not the norm. 

If you want the ease of care that nonstick cookware offers, go ahead and buy it. But there's no magic bullet that will make it last more than a few years.

This is why we advise people to buy inexpensive nonstick frying pans and to buy just frying pans, not entire sets. But you shouldn't necessarily buy at the bottom of the market (like GraniteStone) because you can get good quality pans by spending a little more.

back to top

Are GraniteRock and GraniteStone Pans Safe (and Healthy) to Use?

GraniteStone Square Pan  W/Veggies

This is a bit complicated to answer.

PTFE (Teflon) in itself is an inert substance until heated to about 400F, at which point it begins to emit fumes that cause flu-like symptom in humans and are lethal to birds. Below that temperature, PTFE is stable and safe.

And up until 2015, PTFE pans were manufactured with a substance called PFOA. PFOA is a carcinogen and an environmental hazard, and it was outlawed for use in cookware in 2015. That's a good thing.

However, makers have not been straightforward about what they're using in place of PFOA, and without knowing that, it's hard to say whether it's any safer, healthier, or better for the environment than PFOA was.

The most common replacement we're aware of is called GenX, which is in the same family of chemicals as PFOA (called "PFAS", per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances), and research has shown that it has many of the same toxic attributes.

Even if makers are still using chemicals similar to PFOA, the truth is that it's used up in the manufacturing process--you're likely to get more exposure to PFOA (or similar chemicals) from your tap water than you are from your nonstick cookware.

So when used at a safe heat, nonstick pans are not a direct health concern. However, the industry itself is a serious environmental concern. The Teflon and PTFE cookware industry is one of the largest contributors to PFAS-contaminated water, you may want to avoid supporting it.

Furthermore, there are currently no EPA regulations for GenX chemicals, so companies are free to dump it, which they do: there are already lawsuits pending by people downstream of cookware plants who've discovered it in their water.

Some people are also concerned about the aluminum base because aluminum has been linked to Alzheimer's and other illnesses. However, the aluminum is never in contact with food, so it isn't a concern unless the pan develops deep scratches (in which case you shouldn't use it).

So: If used properly, GraniteRock/GraniteStone cookware is perfectly safe to humans. But the environmental hazards are a real issue. 

back to top

Do You Need Oil or Butter with Granite Rock Pans? (Our Testing Results)

The GraniteRock and GraniteStone claims are that you don't need to use any butter or oil with their pans.

We tested them to see if that held true.

Our tests were pretty basic: frying an egg, searing a steak, and cooking a piece of fish. We used low to medium heat and silicone utensils for all tests. 

Eggs

Egg in nonstick pan

Without butter, egg stuck to the pan. The rough surface likely contributes to this, but it wasn't pretty. A teaspoon of butter made all the difference, however, and with it, eggs slid out of the pan easily.

The eggs did release naturally after a certain point, like most food will from most pans. Unfortunately, by the time this happened, the egg was overcooked. So if you don't mind hard yolks, the GraniteStone pan is a decent option, even without butter or oil.  

Steak and Fish

Sliced steak made in GraniteStone pan

Steak and fish stuck a little bit, too, but by the time they were ready to flip, they had released naturally (much like they do on stainless steel cookware). Unfortunately, you can't get a lot of very good browning at low-medium heat, as you can see in both of these images. (The GraniteRock site has some photos of beautifully seared steaks, but we suspect they used high heat to get them than way. We couldn't get those results without keeping an eye on the pan temperature, which, even at medium heat, can shoot over 500F pretty easily.) 

Fish made in GraniteStone pan

Sadly, there wasn't a lot of fond in the pan to build much of a pan sauce (one of our biggest complaints about nonstick cookware). 

Cleanup

washing dishes

We have zero complaints about washing these pans: even washing by hand with a drop of dish soap, the GraniteRock pan was easy to clean. 

But What About Long Term Use? 

So the pans were, for the most part, nonstick, and for eggs, nonstick with a little bit of butter. But none of our tests addressed the more important issue, which is: how long will the nonstick surface last? 

That's a hard thing to test for because of the time factor needed. 

The reviews tell the story, though: of the people who gave the pans a bad review (3 stars or less, which averaged about 15% of the reviews across the products), many say the pan lost its nonstick properties in 3-4 months.

Even with the best care and use possible, the GraniteRock pans aren't likely to provide any longer service than other nonstick pans.

We suggest you use a little bit of oil or butter for best results. 

back to top

How to Extend the Life of Your GraniteRock and GraniteStone Pans

Sine GraniteRock and GraniteStone products are PTFE, you can get the longest life out of your pan by following the basic rules to care for PTFE cookware:

  • Cook on low or medium heat--never use high heat. High heat breaks down PTFE over time, even if it doesn't reach 500F. 
  • Don't use metal utensils, even if the manufacturer says you can.
  • Don't put in the dishwasher, even if the manufacturer says you can. Dishwasher detergent has abrasives that are bad for the nonstick coating and the exterior aluminum.
  • Don't use aerosol cooking spray. There's a chemical in the aerosol propellant that breaks down PTFE and causes it to get tacky (and probably unsafe).  
  • Don't put your nonstick cookware in the oven. Yes, GraniteRock pans are safe up to 500F, but the nonstick coating can start to wear at around 400F, and even if you never get above 500F, temperatures close to that will take their toll. If you want your nonstick pan to last, avoiding high temperatures is probably the most important precaution to take.
  • Avoid rapid temperature changes, which can cause your pan to warp. For example, always let pans cool to room temperature before washing.
  • Don't use abrasive cleansers or scrubby pads. They will scratch the nonstick coating.

back to top

Is GraniteRock Cookware Recyclable?

recycling symbol

While it's unlikely that you can toss an old Granite Rock pan into your recycling bin and have it hauled away, you can probably find a recycling center that will take it. Check with your trash hauler or local recycling centers to find out how to recycle your old nonstick cookware.

You may also find a way to repurpose old pans. You can scour Google and YouTube for ideas.

Whatever you do, don't donate old nonstick pans to charity. If you don't like how they're working anymore, nobody else will, either. 

back to top

Does GraniteStone Green Contain PTFE?

GraniteStone Green Frying Pan

Yes.

GraniteStone Green, their newest line of cookware (available on Amazon as of January 2021), is the same as the GraniteStone Diamond cookware, but in a new color.

Green might make you think this cookware is PTFE-free (that's usually what "green" means when we're talking about nonstick cookware), but this is only referring to the color. It's pretty--but it's no "cleaner" than any other

GraniteStone cookware.

Same for GraniteStone Blue.

What to Know Before Buying GraniteRock Pans

When buying cookware, there are six categories to look at: heating properties, durability, safety/stability (is the pan safe? does it with food? will it rust?), ease of care, design/aesthetics, and value. Knowing how a pan stacks up in each category will help you decide whether it's a good purchase or not.

To be a good buy, a pan doesn't have to score high in every category. In fact, no pan will; there's really no such thing as perfect cookware (and beauty is in the eye of the beholder, as well; one person's perfect pan may be another person's nightmare). Instead of looking for 5 stars across the board, look for what you're willing and not willing to live with. For example, if you're on a tight budget, value may outweigh heating properties to you, while if you're tired of throwing out cheap pans that don't last, durability might be your most important consideration. 

There's no right or wrong answer. Rather, it's about understanding as much as you can about cookware before you buy.

This is especially true for nonstick cookware, which for all its appeal, has a lot of drawbacks. It's never going to score high in durability, for example. However, a lot of people are willing to live with that because cleanup is so easy.

Here, we rate GraniteRock and GraniteStone skillets in each category. And note that we only tested the skillets because we do not recommend buying entire sets of nonstick cookware. However, if you want a set, you can assume the ratings apply to all the pieces in a set.

Heating Properties

GraniteRock pans are made from stamped aluminum. This is the most inexpensive way to make an aluminum pan. So while aluminum heats quickly and evenly, stamped pans, which tend to be pretty thin, can heat unevenly and have hot and cold spots. (You can compare this to All-Clad HA1 nonstick skillets, for example, which are cast aluminum, and considerably thicker, which helps then heat more evenly and hang onto heat better.) 

In testing, GraniteRock/GraniteStone pans weren't great, but they weren't awful, either. We had some uneven heating at first, but after a few minutes of warming up, the heat evened out well enough to cook food satisfactorily. 

The upside of thin, stamped cookware is that it's light and easy to handle. The downside is that, along with some unevenness, it doesn't hang onto heat for very long. This makes these pans a decent choice for some foods, like eggs and fish, but a poor choice for others, like steaks, which need a lot of pan heat to sear well. As you can see in the photos above of our cooking tests, we didn't get a lot of browning when cooking at the right temperatures for the pan (i.e., keeping it at medium heat and making sure the temperature didn't get above 500F).

Durability

All nonstick pans get low ratings for durability. Despite the advertisements showing people hammering rocks in these pans, GraniteRock pans aren't really any different than other nonstick pans. Most nonstick makers these days make all sorts of claims about the durability of their products, but that's because durability is the number one issue people have with nonstick cookware. And the truth is that, if you want your nonstick pan to last as long as possible, you shouldn't do any of the things the manufacturers say you can, including using metal utensils, putting them in the dishwasher, and heating up to 500F. 

You know going in that nonstick cookware isn't going to last more than a few years (or if you don't, you should); GraniteRock is no exception. 

Also, because the pans are made from stamped ("pressed") aluminum, they're thin, so they'll warp if they undergo rapid temperature changes. 

And despite the ads showing rocks being hammered in the pans, PTFE pans-including GraniteStone pans-- scratch easily. (Stay away from metal utensils!)

Once again, this is no worse than other inexpensive stamped aluminum pans, and should be expected at this price point (regardless of advertising claims).

Safety/Stability

While PTFE is extremely inert and non-reactive at low temperatures, you have to be very careful to not overheat it, which will cause the PTFE to break down and give off fumes that can make people sick (known as the Teflon flu) and be lethal to birds. 

When used correctly--at low heat--PTFE cookware can be great for eggs and fish; but you have to be very careful to not overheat it.

The bigger concern with PTFE pans is the industry itself, which has polluted the world's water supplies with toxic forever chemicals: buying any brand of PTFE cookware contributes to this, which we think is unethical.

Ease of Care

This is where nonstick cookware shines, and the reason people love it so much: it's easy to wash. Food doesn't stick, and the pan practically wipes right out. Or, if food does stick--like the eggs we cooked without butter--the pan still cleaned up pretty easily.

If ease of care is your number one priority, nonstick is the way to go. (That doesn't necessarily mean GraniteRock though, as for just a little more you can get a pan with much better heating properties, like the Anolon Nouvelle Copper pan.)

Design/Aesthetics

GraniteRock 2-Pack W/Food

Design is really about your personal preferences. Are the handles comfortable to hold? Are the pans easy to maneuver? Do the lids (if any) fit well? Do you find the cookware attractive? (And yes, this matters, because you won't enjoy using pans you find ugly.)

We give GraniteRock/GraniteStone products slightly above average ratings for design because we actually like the looks and the feel of these pans. We like the overall design: the pan shape is good, with a lot of flat cooking surface and a curved lip for drip-free pouring. The stainless steel handles are durable and comfortable. 

Overall, the GraniteRock pans look more expensive than they are, and we think that's a good thing.

Value

If you're on a super tight budget, GraniteRock may be a good option. At about $20 for a standard 10-inch skillet, the price is tough to beat. 

These aren't our top choice for nonstick skillets, so we only recommend them if you absolutely can't afford to spend a little more. But you will probably get a good year or two of use out of them, so the value is definitely there. 

Cost-per-year-of-use: A better way to determine value, we think, is by cost-per-year-of-use. If you spend $30 on a pan that lasts 2 years, its cost-per-year-of-use is $15 ($30/2). 

However, if you spend $100 on a pan that lasts for 25 years, its cost-per-year-of-use is $4. 

When you add in the expense of replacing the cheaper pan, you can see how much you'll save in the long run by buying more durable cookware. 

As affordable as GraniteRock and GraniteStone pans are, we give them an average rating for value because they tend to lose their nonstick properties quickly, and because nonstick pans in general have an average life span of less 1-5 years.

For this reason, we recommend buying more durable cookware than nonstick. If you can't live without nonstick properties, consider cast iron or carbon steel, which are inexpensive yet will last for decades (maybe even centuries).

Overall Granite Stone Cookware Rating: 3.2

If you're leaning towards budget and easy care, GraniteRock and GraniteStone pans get the highest ratings. If you're looking for superb heating and durability, you should probably keep looking (and maybe consider something besides nonstick). 

back to top

GraniteRock and GraniteStone Pan Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Affordable (but not necessarily great value).
  • Look more expensive than they are.
  • Easy to wash.
  • Fairly even heating.

Cons

  • Not totally nonstick: some oil or butter is required for best results.
  • Thin; can warp from too-rapid temperature change.
  • Not great for searing (too thin to hold onto heat).
  • Will offgas dangerous fumes at high temperatures (above 500F).
  • Most are not induction compatible.

back to top

What About All Positive Reviews on Amazon?

Hmmm, let's take a deeper look at the Amazon reviews. 

At The Rational Kitchen, we consider a good rating to be 80% or more 4- and 5-star reviews and less than 10% 1- and 2-star reviews. Average GraniteRock product ratings hover right around 80% positive reviews and about 13% negative reviews. So not great, but not too bad, either. 

The Fakespot ratings were all over the place. Many of the products got As, but some got Cs and one got a D. This doesn't necessarily mean the reviews are fake, or that the products are poor quality. It just means that some of the reviews may not be reliable. The Fakespot rating for the company is a C (so not the best).

Here's the thing about Amazon reviews. A lot of reviewers have only had a product for a short time, before they've had a chance to become fully acquainted with it. And often, when the product disappoints, people don't bother to update their glowing reviews. 

With nonstick cookware, it's particularly important to read the negative reviews. All nonstick pans work great at first, but how long do they last? That's the most important question, and the negative reviews will help you answer it more than the positive reviews will. 

For more info on Amazon reviews and how they can help you buy wisely, see our article Can You Trust Amazon Reviews?

back to top

Our GraniteRock and GraniteStone Cookware Recommendations

GraniteRock pans with food

If you want an inexpensive nonstick skillet that will perform adequately and probably last about a year, GraniteRock products are a decent option. 

See GraniteRock pans on Amazon

See GraniteStone pans on Amazon

You can also buy directly from the Granite Rock and Granite Stone web sites, but you'll probably have better luck buying through another retailer like Amazon. The website offers a free 5-inch egg pan with the purchase of a 10-inch skillet, but some people say they never received it. Furthermore, lead times are really long: you may wait up two months before your pan arrives. The pans we ordered from Amazon arrived in just a few days.

buy graniterock skillet at graniterock.com

buy granitestone skillet at granitestone.com


Other Nonstick Pan Options

Anolon Nouvelle Luxe skillet set

If you think you'd like to spend a little more to get a better quality nonstick pan, there are several brands we recommend. Our favorite is Anolon Nouvelle Luxe Copper. They are slightly higher-priced than a GraniteStone pan, but are still surprisingly affordable, and they have excellent build quality and heating properties. You can read about all the great features of the Anolon cookware in our Anolon Cookware Review.

GreenPan GP5 skillet

If you want to avoid the environmental and health issues associated with PTFE and Teflon cookware, you can check out ceramic nonstick cookware. Our favorite affordable brand is GreenPan (this like goes to our GreenPan review). Ceramic nonstick tends to have a shorter life span than PTFE, but is not as bad for the environment.

Lodge Cast Iron Skillet

But our favorite options for nonstick skillets are cast iron and carbon steel. They are inexpensive yet will last for decades, and when seasoned, are nearly as nonstick as PTFE. 

See our cast iron skillet review

See our carbon steel skillet review

Final Thoughts on GraniteRock and GraniteStone Pans

Despite much touting about the "granite" coating, GraniteRock/GraniteStone pans are just your basic stamped aluminum pans with a PTFE Teflon nonstick coating. They are nowhere near as tough as the marketing hype would have you believe, and work best with oil or butter in the pan.

The nonstick coating has been reinforced with granite, or perhaps diamond dust, but there's not a lot of evidence that these reinforcements add much to durability or pan life (true for all brands, not just GraniteRock).

If budget is your number one concern, GraniteRock is as good as anything else at this price point. However, for just a little bit more, you can get a cast aluminum pan (such as the Anolon Nouvelle Copper pan) that's going to heat better, be less prone to warping, and last at least as long and likely longer. 

Thanks for reading!

back to top

If you found this article helpful, please share:

GraniteRock/GraniteStone Pan Review pinterest

About the Author

The Rational Kitchen (TRK) is a collaborative effort, but the founder, editor, and writer of most of our articles is Melanie Johnson, an avid cook, kitchenware expert, and technical communications specialist for more than 20 years. Her love of cooking and the frustrating lack of good information about kitchen products led her to create The Rational Kitchen. TRK's mission is to help people make the best decisions they can when buying kitchen gear. 

When not working on product reviews, Melanie enjoys reading, playing with her dog Ruby, vintage video games, and spending time outdoors and with her family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Bought from Walmart, wouldn't replace 10days past 90 day warranty, tried to contact granite stone,no contact, always used med. heat and silicone utensils,non-stick finish was coming loose after 8 weeks, would never buy another granite stone product!!!!!

      1. I feel that's an unfair assumption. We've tried to reach out on numerous occasions to help clarify any questions as well as provide robust updates on what it is that we are up to as a brand.

    1. Hi Dan, I am the brand manager for granitestone.com and while inventory that is purchased via a retailer cannot be handled return wise on our site, we would be happy to help you out here if you aren't happy with your purchase. Among other things, seasoning your pans is very important. Please reach out to me at zach@dotcompartners.com and I'd be happy to handle any questions personally.

  2. I am actually the brand manager for GraniteStone.com and there is quite a decent amount of misinformation in this post regarding the makeup of our pans, the naming conventions and what exactly it is that we offer as a brand. I'd love to chat with the author of this post and provide any clarifications necessary in order to give curious consumers the proper information when they are looking to buy our pans.

    1. Hi Zach, Thanks for reaching out. It was very difficult to find information about your product while doing this review. I would welcome the opportunity to correct any wrong information. Please contact me here with corrections, and I will update the article as soon as I get them. Thank you!

    2. I'm using a Granitestone fry pan I bought 3 years ago. I've posted a few minutes ago my review. All I can say is that I love the Granitestone pans of 3 years ago. After reading this review, I have to admit I have some hesitation about buying another one of a smaller size for other uses.

      1. I wouldn't go by anything this person has stated in this review they've stated nonsense, Granitestone does not contain PTFE it's a stone derived mineral coating that is reinforced with diamond materials and this person has stated Granitestone contains PTFE. I'm going to be contacting the company to let them know people are spouting false information about their products this is not right at all!

  3. great pan for 4 mos. then no longer nonstick plus the pan buckled in the middle so eggs placed in the middle slid down hill. Very Disappointed

    1. Thanks for the comment, Donna. Unfortunately that is the experience of many who buy this brand. Our recommendation is to spend a little bit more and go with a cast aluminum product like All-Clad Essentials or Anolon Nouvelle Copper. They are more expensive but still affordable, and the cast aluminum is thicker so it won’t warp. The nonstick will probably last a little longer, but you’ll still be replacing these pans every year or so, depending on use. If you want something that will last longer, you should go with carbon steel or cast iron, which are almost as nonstick.

    1. Hi John,
      These pans are tri-ply stainless with the same (or very similar) nonstick coating. I wouldn’t expect much different from them, except they’ll work on induction. That is, same mediocre quality as the rest of Granitestone products.

      Costco would be a good place to buy them because of their unconditional refund policy. 🙂 If you try them, please let us know how you like them.

  4. I only ordered one pan and when you check your recording you will see I ordered one Pan not two! Please correct my order or I will have my Bank cancel the order!

    1. Sorry, we are just a review site and not affiliated with Granite Stone in any way. You will have to contact Granite Stone to correct your order.

  5. Absolutely the worst fry pan i ever bought. I food sticks in it and. The pan is peeling. .called the granite stone and told them wouldn't help me unless I could prove proof of purchase. Who keeps receipts

    1. Was high heat used? A lot of these non-stick coatings you cannot use high heat it will ruin the coating. Most manufacturers will state something in the manual but of course a lot of people don't read manuals they think they know how to use things on their own and then they want to complain because something isn't working properly or in this case the coating becomes bad when it could have been the user's fault.

  6. I've had a Graniterock 12" skillet for almost 3 years, now. Except for its first cleaning after purchasing, it has never seen any soap or a dishwasher. To clean from any use, I only use hot water and a paper towel to wipe out. I do not use metal utensils in it. For all practical purposes, it has remained completely non-stick as the day I bought it. I use it for steaks, eggs, pasta dishes, fish, and much more. I use it at least 3 times a week. I'm careful to not overheat it, too. I like that no matter how long I'm using it, it does not get a hot handle. That's a great feature. I see no downsides to owning this pan. My theory seems to be holding up–if you take care of something and pay attention to its features and limitations, it will last a long, long time and you will be happy with it. I would not trade this pan for anything else on the market at any price.

    1. Hi Michael, It’s nice to hear from someone who had a good experience with this pan. It’s great that the pan has lasted for you. 🙂

  7. I've had a Graniterock 12" skillet for almost 3 years, now. Except for its first cleaning after purchasing, it has never seen any soap or a dishwasher. To clean from any use, I only use hot water and a paper towel to wipe out. I do not use metal utensils in it. For all practical purposes, it has remained completely non-stick as the day I bought it. I use it for steaks, eggs, pasta dishes, fish, and much more. I use it at least 3 times a week. I'm careful to not overheat it, too. I like that no matter how long I'm using it, it does not get a hot handle. That's a great feature. I see no downsides to owning this pan. My theory seems to be holding up–if you take care of something and pay attention to its features and limitations, it will last a long, long time and you will be happy with it. I would not trade this pan for anything else on the market at any price.

    1. Hi Michael, it's great to hear a good experience with these pans. I'm curious, did you "season" the pan per GraniteRock's instructions? Or do you attribute it to your careful handling?

  8. I haven't had my pans two months when one pan warped, I've got scratch marks on two others and olso the sheet pan I got the coating is flaking off onto the food I put on it. Not satisfied at all.

  9. I'm going to be passing along information from this website to Granitestone because Granitestone cookware does not contain PTFE, it's aluminum that is coated with a stone-derived coating and then reinforced with diamond materials. You should not be stating incorrect information about Granitestone products.

  10. There's so much incorrect info on this website it's stating that Granitestone is reinforced with granite when the coating itself is mineral derived and then that coating is reinforced with diamond materials it's not correct that PTFE is reinforced with granite that is such nonsense. Where did you get this information from? If you're going to spout whatever out here you best provide where you got your information!

    1. Sorry, but we stand by our review. If you’re concerned about the safety of nonstick cookware, you need to do more research. When you do you’ll discover that granite, stone, diamond dust, titanium, and more are added to PTFE nonstick coatings (aka Teflon). Makers do this not only to make the nonstick stronger and longer lasting, but so they can call their coating “mineral” or “granite” or “titanium” rather than what it really is: PTFE with reinforcing materials. (Or possibly ceramic nonstick, which actually is PTFE-free–think GreenPan and GreenLife.)

      If you don’t trust our site, then find information you do trust, as long as you look beyond the marketing departments of nonstick cookware makers.

  11. I just received an email reply from Granitestone and the person told me their products are PTFE free so I will be sending this website info to them and they can take whatever measures they feel are appropriate being as there are lies out here being said about their product!

    1. Hi Kathryn. If you read all the comments on this review, you’ll find that the GraniteStone brand manager has contributed, so they are aware of it. He too said our review is full of bad information. As a site that only cares about the truth, we welcomed his comment and asked him to please get in touch with us so we could correct the wrong information. That was almost two years ago, and we haven’t heard anything back from him.

      Maybe if you send them our site, they will remember to share their information with us. That would be great.

      Also: If you want to alert GraniteStone to sites that claim their product contains PTFE, there are several (dozens, at least). So you will have to do quite a bit more research if you really want to help GraniteStone out.

      The truth is that GraniteStone pans have a PTFE coating that is reinforced with granite particles. This is very common now, and you see it in many brands of nonstick cookware. I don’t know who told you that their pans are PTFE-free, of if you possibly misinterpreted what they told you (PFOA-free is not the same as PTFE free, just as Teflon-free is not the same as PTFE-free). If they told you the pans are free of PTFE, they were lying, or possibly just misinformed, which is entirely possible because of the convoluted and confusing way PTFE cookware is marketed.

      If our review is wrong, we look forward to the opportunity to correct it. Thanks for your input.

  12. I have had 2 Granitestone 10" pans for less than 2 years. I bought a second one, as I like to make meat in one, gravy in another, One has worn out, lost all coating in the middle. The second pan is holding up well. Is there a time limit on the durability of these pans? I do not use them in the oven, I do not have a dishwasher. I do not use metal on any of my pans. I have used both pans as instructed. Thank you, Willow Calacino 928.229.8796

    1. Hi Willow, GraniteStone pans have a PTFE (Teflon) nonstick coating that has a limited life span. The average life span of a PTFE coating is considered to be 1-5 years. More expensive PTFE pans tend to have more layers of coatings so they tend to be on the higher end of that life span. Inexpensive pans (like GraniteStone) tend to be on the lower end of that life span. It doesn’t seem to matter how careful you are with nonstick pans. This is how long they last. When people say their nonstick pans last for many years (or even decades), it’s hard to say why, but it could be that they’re just not aware of how the coating has dulled, flaked off, or stopped being nonstick. If their pans really do last this long, they are certainly in the minority.

      It’s not unusual for fans of nonstick cookware to buy new nonstick pans every year or every other year as a cost of doing business. If you want a nonstick pan that lasts longer than GraniteStone, I suggest you look at a brand like Anolon Copper Luxe, which is still quite reasonably priced. However, it’s unlikely to last more than 5 years. Here is our Anolon Cookware Review if you want more info: https://therationalkitchen.com/anolon-cookware-review/

      If you want a pan that will really last, consider cast iron or carbon steel. You have to deal with seasoning, but once you do, you have an inexpensive pan that is nearly as nonstick as PTFE and will last literally for decades (generations, actually). Cast iron and carbon steel also do not contribute to global pollution as does the PTFE industry, and they do not contribute to the landfill issue like nonstick cookware, either.

      We have a lot of great articles if you want to learn more about other types of cookware, or the hazards of PTFE cookware. Check out our cookware page for a list of articles: https://therationalkitchen.com/cookware/

      Hope that was helpful.

  13. I received your Granitestone 20 pc set as a gift from my aunt. Needless to say it didn’t turn out to well
    My aunt paid $200+ for this set at Macy’s. Unfortunately my aunt is now deceased n I have no receipt to be able to return it for a refund. My aunt lived on a fixed income and to think her monies went down the drain because she believed she was getting a high quality product.
    It seems so unfair for your company to misinform the public.
    My aunt was so happy to be able to gift me this set
    As I was when I received it.
    I really don’t know if maybe I received a defective set .
    Here’s hoping your company can try to resolve this issue.

    1. Hello Nelida, This website is not affiliated with Granitestone in any way. I’m sorry for your bad experience, but we have no authority to refund your money. You will have to contact the company itself.

      But for the record, Granitestone is an inexpensive, rather poorly made product that we do not recommend. They are also not known to have good customer service, so it’s unlikely you’ll get your money back, or even get a reply from the company.

      If you want nonstick cookware, you can get better quality brands for not a lot more money. Or, if you want cookware that lasts, consider cast iron, carbon steel, or clad stainless. You can get a cast iron skillet for under $30 and it will last forever–if you don’t mind seasoning.

      We have a lot of articles on our Cookware page about how to choose cookware: https://therationalkitchen.com/cookware

      Please let me know if you have any more questions or thoughts.

  14. I purchased a set of Granite stone stackable in April 2020. They were great at first but last year, yes a year ago, I requested a replacement for my sauté' pan. I got approval back that day in an email saying I was approved and would receive tracking info in 3-4 weeks. I DID NOT! I wrote back and was told it was taking a while due to the fact it was one pan and not the set. Another time I was told it was because of Covid (REALLY!?). I have emailed multiple times since the first email and they keep sending back an email saying the request has been closed and a new one open. At this point all my pans are like the one in the pic and I would like a replacement set. I did point that out in an email and was approved for the full set replacement but again nothing is happening. This all started May 2, 2022. They all, except the dutch oven, look like that now. (it's not used as much but is starting to stick also) I want them replaced, all of them. I would also like to have a call from someone. 615-424-1863. For a set of cookware that claims to be the best…mine and my experience has been a nightmare. My last "approval" was 4/11/23 and still nothing. They won't even respond to my emails.

    1. That must be very frustrating. Unfortunately, GraniteStone has a poor reputation for customer service and at this point, you’re probably better off looking for a new brand rather than replacing this set. We like Anolon Nouvelle Luxe for nonstick, and also recommend clad stainless steel, cast iron, and carbon steel pans. Even the best nonstick cookware is only going to last a few years, and you are unlikely to get it replaced for free unless it was defective in some way.

  15. Granitestone cool ware scam: I called their specific number for the Granitestone Green set and received the gray. Called customer service number and was told no returns that i would have to pay shipping and then reorder the green set. Here is the scam they shipped the cookware set from Norwalk CA. In order to return it I have to pat $110/00 in shipping to Vermont. I am sure they will resell it to someone who wants the gray set with me paying the cross country shipping. The customer service is the worst I have ever seen. Do Not buy anything from Granite stone. The customer service is out of India and they don't care about making things right

    1. Thanks for letting us know. This company gets so many bad reports. We will add this info to the review.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}